Jannik Sinner in sportsmanship fail as French Open final gesture to Carlos Alcaraz backfires

4 hours ago 39

JANNIK SINNER paid for sportingly but WRONGLY awarding Carlos Alcaraz a point in their sensational French Open final.

Poland’s World No.1 incorrectly told the umpire an Alcaraz forehand was in – only for replays to show it went LONG.

Jannik Sinner showing great sportsmanship in his match against Carlos Alcaraz at Roland Garros.

Carlos’ shot is called out.

The chair umpire comes down to check the mark but Jannik tells her not to bother and says the ball was in.

These two. ❤

pic.twitter.com/6KxO3LAijO

— The Tennis Letter (@TheTennisLetter) June 8, 2025
Tennis umpire signaling on a clay court.The umpire responded gratefully to Jannick Sinner’s intervention

The Spaniard earlier saved THREE Championship points in that fourth set.

And Alcaraz went on to complete a comeback of astonishing quality, winning 4-6 6-7 6-4 7-6 7-6 in five hours and 29 minutes.

Unlike the three other Grand Slam tournaments, Roland Garros does NOT use HawkEye technology to check line calls.

And in fact midway through the final set Sinner was frustrated when an Alcaraz shot was called in – when replays revealed ti was 31mm out.

So although fans praised Sinner for his sportsmanship in the fourth, many viewers blasted French Open chiefs for being stuck in their ways.

The tight line call came when Alacaraz served to go 6-5 up in the fourth.

Line judges called it out and the chair umpire got down from her seat to examine the mark.

But as she strode quickly across the court, Sinner signalled he thought the ball was good.

Tennis player on court during a match.Sinner signalled to show he thought Alcaraz’s shot had been in

BEST ONLINE CASINOS – TOP SITES IN THE UK

She immediately acknowledged that with a raised hand and returned to her seat.

However, freeze-frame replays  of the incident suggest the ball had clearly landed beyond the baseline.

And that led to observers hailing both players for the spirit in which they played such a gripping contest, but also questioning the tournament for snubbing HawkEye.

One fan said: “They are both acting like saints here.”

Another described them as “class acts all around”.

A third posted: “So nice to see some civility in the world!”

And a fourth wrote: “That is why they are 2 favourites.”

But another moaned: “So many missed called because they refuse to use technology. Joke of a tourny .”

And another viewer said: “Honestly thought it looked clearly out at full speed. A number of very questionable calls at the end of that set…”

Around 90 minutes after the line shout, Alcaraz clinched his victory from two sets down with a dominant 10-2 Championship tie-break in the fifth.

Read Entire Article